We can all agree 2020 was a rough year. 2021 was slightly better, but in some ways, it felt like an extension of 2020. Globally, we were forced to stay home for periods of time, wondered about our jobs, our role in life, and if everything would ever feel normal again. I struggled hard. Working in an industry that was shut down for over 18 months due to regulations was draining. What makes us human – connection with others – were strained by that being the very thing that spread COVID-19. I feared for myself and everyone’s future. It was a scary time. Out of this rose my love for Kang Daniel. I think a lot of us took time during the pandemic to examine who we are and what we really want in life. I stumbled upon Kang Daniel at a time where I was pondering these important questions…and in a very real sense, he became my guiding light. At first, I noticed his dancing. My eyes were drawn to him like a magnet. The charisma was unmistakable. But there was something else – artistry. A person doing what they clearly loved, expressing themselves to their highest potential. Every bodyline crisp, beautiful, and you can tell – he’s someone who has practiced until the dance moves are unconsciously flowing out of him. As a fellow artist who had hidden away their talent for many years, it was amazing for me to see someone performing at such a high level. It was inspiring and gave me an answer to a question I had been seeking: what am I missing right now in my life that would bring me joy? “Joy” is the word I would use to describe Kang Daniel. The man is pure joy. At first, I noticed him for his dancing, and then as I began to watch content with him in it, I realized that his dancing actually pales in comparison to what an amazing human being he is. If kindness was personified, it would be Kang Daniel. In addition to finding a rekindling of my artistic drive through him, I also found something much greater. He helped me realize how important being a kind person was to me. How important it is to be brave in facing your feelings. And, you can come out the other side realizing that life is about your mind state. He gave me music that allowed me to grieve alongside him and then showed me a roadmap out of it. In the end, nothing really matters other than your perspective on life. Watching content with Daniel in it, you will see the kindness that exudes from him right away. What takes a little more time to perceive is the philosophy behind his music. His perspective, I believe, is of a man who has seen the highest of the highs and the lowest of the lows, and he’s come out the other side kind, warm, and incredibly at peace with who he is and what he can give to the world. It’s a kind of peace that is full of passion, warmth, and stillness all at the same time. He takes us through his journey in his music. A journey that coincidentally comes at the lowest of the lows also for most of us during 2020 and 2021. He gave voice to what we all felt – darkness, loneliness, uncertainty, and claustrophobia. Yellow was his most personal album. It was a lyrical diary. From this album came themes that resonated strongly with me. A feeling of realness and solidarity in knowing that at least someone else feels the same way. You can hear the grieving in his lyrics. The struggle to find his way in the world. “Days are as dark as the night It’s getting scary In my lightless room It’s becoming routine, one by one Am I just crazy or dreamin’ awake? Now I can’t escape Every day repeats and I become numb… Nightmares come to see me Nightmares make me go insane A dark night With a monster that lives inside Alone in the dark….” - ‘Paranoia’ “When my unfocused eyes Look in the empty air, yeah I can’t even fathom How you’ll spread more potently throughout my body I’m looking for the Antidote Please end this night I’m begging for the Antidote Please cleanse it all….” - ‘Antidote’ “Hide my pain Keep the truth deeply hidden They wanna take me down… A trap I can’t stop facing Countless nights that have ended up erasing who I am I open my closed eyes, and I open my closed lips I let the noisy world flow Now let it go Let it go…” - ‘Digital’ “Fake smiles all over my face Black tinted windows down What am I doing?… I am quietly drained I’m forever, ever, forever, misunderstood…” - ‘Misunderstood’ Listening to “Yellow” on repeat was a way of cleansing my mind. Knowing that someone else felt the same way. The confusion in life and the utter despair. But, it was all translated through the lens of beauty. Watching Kang Daniel dance ‘Paranoia’ and ‘Antidote’, I saw a person who took his pain and created brilliant, beautiful choreography. He told a story through all the parts of his performance – music, lyrics, sound, lighting, choreography, video direction, imagery, costumes, hair, makeup, and more. He assembled a talented group of people who believed in his vision and orchestrated it. He turned something twisted, beautiful, and it was a foreshadowing of his next two albums, “The Story” and “Joy Ride”, where you see how out of all this pain, he rises like a phoenix. He finds his answers and brings you along for the journey. He aptly calls his next album “The Story.” It’s a story of how to get closer to happiness. He states in an interview this album is about others’ stories, but really, when it comes down to it, it’s all flowing through Kang Daniel, and his new perspective is seen everywhere: “I feel dizzy and I can’t just live One day in peace I pray that a miracle Will come to me …. Turn everything around Up and down, upside down Turn the whole world the other way around…” - ‘Upside Down’ “I’m a loser with nothing But I laugh every day That’s right, I got no friends (No friends) I’m gonna be okay (Okay) Everybody look at me and laugh at me (Yeah) What if I’m alone (how about) I’m gonna be okay (Okay) - ‘Loser’ “Who cares if we’re different? What’s the big deal? (Oh!) Let’s make a toast and lift our glasses high This is our Parade I wanna be forever young Fill the black night sky From now, I want to live my way Cause it all means Nothing, nothing, nothing, nothing…” - ‘Parade’ “I stumble all night but carry on Until the red sun comes up… Running and running Following yesterday In the past Flowers bloom Because there is a gorgeous finale Even if you fall, you should know… You gotta get up, high in the sky You gotta get up, spread your wings…” - ‘The Story’ “…Cause you’re addicted to hating Me I’m just chillin… Let me ask you this Cuz I just wanna say Why you so mad? Trapped in your own world Why you so mad?… If you hate me, you’re the only one in pain… So why are you so mad, mad, mad…” - ‘Mad’ These themes carry on into his album, Joy Ride. “..This isn’t the last stop Round and round I know the pain isn’t real…” - ‘TPIR’ “I want to enjoy everything Overtaking, challenge for tomorrow I’d like to make a bet Just want to prove something Up and down Up and down I don’t care about that anymore The world I see, it’s up to me I want to believe in the answer Nobody can stop me I put on a brave act Have nothing to be ashamed of Want to be the way I am Where am I headed? I don’t have regrets Nobody can stop me I wanna go on a joy ride…” - ‘Joy Ride’ The culmination of this journey I believe is in his song ‘Moment.’ It’s a simple, heartfelt ballad. But, in it, he reminds us that moments are fleeting and all we have. Fill them with the people you love and walk beside them forever. Kindness, staying true to yourself, and love – those are the keys. “Even if I’m walking an endless tunnel or alone, wait for me Everything It can’t be forever I think I know now Memories become fragments Even if the light eventually fades I will be standing here Stay by my side forever Stay here Even if everything in the world changes Stay the same Stay by my side forever In this moment, moment, moment…” - ‘Moment’ Working through the pain, coming out the other side with no regrets and realizing everything is your perspective – those are lessons Kang Daniel has taught me. Put your passion into something and work hard at it. Be inspired in life and a kind human being. Be with people who love and support you. Listen to his song ‘Mad’ on repeat to be mindful of the question of why should you be mad? His songs are like therapy for my soul and his philosophy has taken home in my mind. Life is up to us. Where do we find joy? How do we regain our happiness? How can we realize in our daily fights with the world that none of it truly matters? It’s all noise that we need to block out to keep striving for our happiness. It’s okay to be ourselves and be different. Once that mindfulness happens, there’s a stillness that comes with it. Of knowing yourself and what you want in the world. I’m glad Kang Daniel has found peace through his passion. He’s also helped me regain mine…. and I hope he helps you too.     Note: If you too are looking to send your article to Kpopmap, check out the guideline here.  

Kpopmap Fan Interview: A DANITY From The US Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kang Daniel by FANS|Oct 8, 2022 Kang Daniel Announces The Asia Route For His World Tour “FIRST PARADE” NEWS|Sep 19, 2022 7 Kang Daniel Songs That Are Truly Masterpieces KPOP STORIES|Aug 9, 2022

Fan Article  How Kang Daniel Helped A DANITY With Their Mental Well Being - 84Fan Article  How Kang Daniel Helped A DANITY With Their Mental Well Being - 23Fan Article  How Kang Daniel Helped A DANITY With Their Mental Well Being - 90Fan Article  How Kang Daniel Helped A DANITY With Their Mental Well Being - 35Fan Article  How Kang Daniel Helped A DANITY With Their Mental Well Being - 88Fan Article  How Kang Daniel Helped A DANITY With Their Mental Well Being - 86Fan Article  How Kang Daniel Helped A DANITY With Their Mental Well Being - 81Fan Article  How Kang Daniel Helped A DANITY With Their Mental Well Being - 46Fan Article  How Kang Daniel Helped A DANITY With Their Mental Well Being - 57Fan Article  How Kang Daniel Helped A DANITY With Their Mental Well Being - 79Fan Article  How Kang Daniel Helped A DANITY With Their Mental Well Being - 11Fan Article  How Kang Daniel Helped A DANITY With Their Mental Well Being - 16Fan Article  How Kang Daniel Helped A DANITY With Their Mental Well Being - 12